Fabulous Friday: Quick and Easy French Bread

I’ve been trying to be super tight with our budget this month and not take any money from our “other” fund for food. So when we ran out of bread, I made the comment to my husband that I needed to make some.  He volunteered to do it. He had never made bread before so I wasn’t sure if he was just being nice and trying to take the load off of me or if he was secertly remembering how my bread almost NEVER turns out good and then end up like bricks. Remember this post? Ya.  Anywho, he set to work making bread and BAM in 1 hour my husband put to shame any attempt I’d ever made to make bread. His bread was BEAUTIFUL! DELICIOUS! ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! I could have kicked him. 😉

Just a few days later, the Relief Society in my ward put on a very timely class: food storage and bread making. We got to make the dough there and then bring it home to bake. I was skeptical that it would turn out but guess what! It did!!! It was light and fluffy and scrumptious. My dear sweet husband even praised it up one side and down the other. Eating a warm slice with butter and honey in between each praise. How’s that for boosting the confidence of a non-bread maker? He was so convincing, that  I made another loaf with my almost 3 year old today and it turned out great too! Two great breads in one week? Woot! Maybe I’m getting better at this… Or maybe the recipe is just that simple.  🙂

Homemade french bread in 1 hour!

Homemade french bread in 1 hour!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Quick and Easy French Bread

  • 1 TBS yeast
  • 1 TBS sugar
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 cup warm water (yes an additional cup)
  • 1 TBS butter
  • 1 1/2 tsb salt
  • 3 cups flour (plus a little extra for kneading)
  1. In a large bowl, mix the yeast, sugar and 1/2 cup warm water. Let it stand for about 5-10 minutes until it gets all bubbly.
  2. Add in 1 cup water, butter, and salt. Mix everything together.
  3. Add 3 cups of flour and once you’ve stirred it all in, started kneading it with your hand. Add a little more flour as needed.
  4. Once it’s not ridiculously sticky any more and you can at least handle it, flour a cookie sheet and stick the dough on it. Knead the dough for about 5 minutes adding in flour if you need it.
  5. Press the dough into a rectangle, then roll it up from the long side.
  6. Score the dough with a sharp knife.
  7. Turn on oven to 400 degrees and let the dough rise while the oven is heating.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes.

See! I told you it was easy! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

