Helpful Tip Tuesday: Brown Sugar Substitute

Have you ever been in the middle of baking something when you realized you were out of brown sugar?

Brown Sugar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That happened to me just the other night!  I was trying to make a new granola recipe and I went to get the brown sugar out of the cupboard when I had a sad, sad realization: We were completely out of brown sugar! GASP!! Whatever should I do? I did the same thing I always do when I’m in that type of situation. I googled it 🙂 Here’s what I found:

Homemade Brown Sugar

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 TBS molasses (or 1.5 TBS for a lighter brown sugar)

Put molasses and sugar in a bowl and stir until completely combined.

Voila! Brown sugar! Crisis solved 🙂

I was able to make granola after all and believe me this new recipe is AMAZING! I will share it with all of you on Friday. Because it really is fabulous.

Leave a Reply

