Helpful Tip Tuesday: Shredded Chicken

Many recipes call for cooked, shredded chicken. I like to prepare this in advance. Just one less thing to do when I’m trying to make dinner. I use my pressure cooker and cook up 4-5 larger chicken breasts. While they are still piping hot, I put them in my KitchenAid stand mixer to shred! Use the paddle and turn it on number 3 or 4 and it will shred that chicken like a dream. No slaving away for 20 minutes with a couple of forks. The mixer will have it shredded in about 2 minutes.

Awesome.  (Have I mentioned before how much I love my KitchenAid? It is almost like another member of the family.)

Picture source: Homemakers Daily

 

Divide chicken into sandwich sized zippys, putting about 1 cup in each bag.  Each chicken breast will yield about 1.5 cups of shredded chicken.

So if you cook up 5  chicken breasts you will get approximately 7.5 cups of shredded chicken, which is enough for all of your meals in August that call for shredded chicken!

5 thoughts on “Helpful Tip Tuesday: Shredded Chicken

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Fajitas | The Monthly Lineup

  2. Pingback: Black Bean Salsa Chicken – Slow Cooker | The Monthly Lineup

  3. Pingback: August Meal Plan | The Monthly Lineup

Leave a Reply

